home - disinfo cases - detail

The United States has recognised Donetsk People’s Republic

Summary of Disinformation

The US Treasury’s Office of Foreign Asset Control, which enforces economic and trade sanctions against countries and individuals, recognised the Donetsk People’s Republic.


Reccurring disinformation. As the DPR appears on the US Office of Foreign Asset Control sanctions list as a separate entity, without any qualifiers such as self-proclaimed or so-called, Ukraina.ru interprets that as de-facto recognition. At the same time, Ukraina.ru adds that according to the US Treasury, the DPR is an administrative part of Ukraine.

The self-proclaimed republics of Luhansk and Donetsk are indeed listed as separate entities on the OFAC sanctions list, without any quotation marks or explainers attached.

According to the US Embassy in Ukraine the self-proclaimed separatist republics are not recognised by anyone although they are listed separately on the OFAC sanctions list. Further debunking by StopFake.

share with
Reported in: Issue 88
Date: 10.11.2017
Language: Russian
Country: Ukraine, US
Keywords: Donetsk, DPR, Sanctions
Outlet where the disinformation appeared: Ukraina.ru, Informuburo, Ukrop
share with

Have you found a mistake?
Give us your feedback.

Please don't forget to include facts and data backing your story.