home - disinfo cases - detail

There are only two countries at the G7 which are against the return of Russia

Summary of Disinformation

If you start to analyse the positions within the Seven itself, then in fact, the position is not so clear. Only two countries are strongly opposed. This is Canada, which set the return of Crimea as a required condition, and Great Britain.






Pro-Kremlin disinformation about the G7 and the return of Russia to this organisation. See a previous case: G7 is only a facade for the Global Rulers and the Western leaders are merely marionettes of the shadow rulers

At a news conference before the beginning of the G7 summit in France on 24 August, Donald Tusk said there are more reasons than ever for keeping Moscow out. Russia was expelled from the grouping, previously known as the G8, in 2014 for illegally annexing Ukraine’s Crimean Peninsula and for supporting separatists in the conflict in Eastern Ukraine – a war that has killed more than 13,000 people since April 2014. Germany, France and Britain have also rejected the idea of inviting Russia back into the G7.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel has also stated that "We are in agreement that a return of Russia to the G7 cannot happen unless substantial progress is made in terms of the problems with Ukraine". French President Emmanuel Macron commented that Russia could rejoin the G8, so long as the conflict in Ukraine is resolved.

share with
Reported in: Issue 162
Date: 02.09.2019
Language: Russian
Country: Russia, Canada, UK
Keywords: G7, Anti-Russian
Outlet where the disinformation appeared: Vremya pokazhet @ Pervyi kanal [14:05 - 14:45]
share with

Have you found a mistake?
Give us your feedback.

Please don't forget to include facts and data backing your story.